make-up is my war paint

REVIEW: Avon True Color Ultra Hydrating Lip Color

My coworker Joy is an Avon lady, which means that every month, I get to browse through a brochure and pick out a new makeup product to try!

The great thing about Avon is that the products are quite affordable, which means that if I don’t like something – which is sometimes the case when the swatch in print is different than in person – it’s not a big deal.

I picked up three of these babies, and while they weren’t what I expected, I’m still quite happy!

Packaging is your pretty common black and silver. Nothing that really makes it stand out. It’s quite sleek, though, which I appreciate.

avon true color ultra hydrating lip color red tulip royal peony rose bouquet lipstick swatch (2)

It smells vaguely like flowers. The scent isn’t overpowering, though for me it ain’t pleasant (I got spoiled by the delicious scents of my liquid lipsticks). It tastes like artificial watermelons – does that make sense?

Finish is creamy – as described by the name, it’s ultra hydrating. Don’t expect a flat matte or intense shine; it’s somewhere in the middle.

avon true color ultra hydrating lip color red tulip royal peony rose bouquet lipstick swatch (3)
L-R: Red Tulip, Rose Bouquet, Royal Peony
I like Red Tulip and Rose Bouquet; they give a subtle wash of color on my lips without looking heavy or overly made up! Royal Peony is also a lovely color; alas, its cool undertones meant that it didn’t look good on me 😦 Will probably sell this.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Wearing Rose Bouquet! I didn’t expect to enjoy this as I prefer my lip colors to be bold, but I really liked how natural this looks on me! SO PRETTY OMG.
I enjoyed applying this as it went on super smoothly, but it wasn’t as pigmented as I thought it’d be. Not too big a problem as there are days when I don’t want to go all-out on my lips.

This isn’t a long-lasting lipstick, nor does it claim to be. You’ll have to reapply every 2-3 hours, especially when you eat or drink or smoke a lot. It wasn’t an issue for me because the creamy texture makes it a pleasure to top up.

All in all, I’d say this is great value for your money! If you’re looking for a comfortable, everyday kinda lippie, make sure to check this out!


Follow me on Bloglovin’, Twitter, and Facebook!

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Avon True Color Ultra Hydrating Lip Color

Leave a Reply

