make-up is my war paint

REVIEW: Laura Mercier Candleglow Concealer and Highlighter

I’m not a concealer kinda girl. I was always too lazy to take that extra step, and I never thought I needed it. Sure, I’ve tried a few before, but none of them were really something to write home about.

I was convinced to give this concealing thing another go since I watched yet another “makeup for people with glasses” video where the vlogger kept saying, “Glasses cast shadows on your face, which emphasizes dark circles!” With me working the night shift, I’m no stranger to dark circles, so I finally realized the importance of a good concealer.

I was going to pick up the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer but I was too lazy to go to Rustan’s Makati; hence, I chose this one from Laura Mercier.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

The packaging is so cool – a simple metal wand with a clickable end to dispense the product. I always feel a bit fancy when clicking this 🙂

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

At the end of the stick is a fluffy applicator. I actually don’t use this to blend the product in to my skin, I only use it as a dispenser.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Consistency is pretty good. It’s not too thick to blend, but not too thin to give inadequate coverage.

Speaking of coverage, I’m honestly not sure how I’d rate this on that criteria. I do have dark circles but they’re not panda-eyes bad, so this concealer does a bang up job of making me look more awake. However, this doesn’t seem to be extremely full coverage, so if you’re looking for that, I’d say skip this.

I also do not know how it performs on blemishes, mostly because I don’t conceal them. (I let them run wild on my face, lol.) In all seriousness, I don’t conceal blemishes because I prefer to let them breathe and heal without an extra layer of makeup sitting on them.

In my first impressions, I said that this settles into my fine lines. When I apply a thick enough layer, that holds true. But when I apply a small amount – only what is needed to cover my dark circles – it doesn’t settle into fine lines as much. It also doesn’t oxidize, which I’ve found to be a real problem with my other concealers which gave me Oompa Loompa-colored skin!

 

Price: Php1550 from Rustan’s Beauty Source

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Laura Mercier Candleglow Concealer and Highlighter

  1. I was so tempted to pick this up but I just didn’t know how I would feel about the applicator. It does sound like a good concealer. It seems you just have to be careful not to be too heavy handed with this otherwise it will settle into fine lines. Great review!

    Ann-Marie | http://facetocurls.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

