anxiety · depression · mental health

How I practice self-care

Because everyone gets a little burned out at times, I thought it would be nice to share my best practices with you! 🙂

jorw90121

Breathe. Conscious deep breathing really helps with my anxiety. It allows me to calm down, especially at work when the pressure sets in and I feel overwhelmed. Taking deep, even breaths makes you relax a bit more.

Bathe. When I’m feeling particularly depressed, all I want to do is lay in bed and not wash my face, body, or hair. Taking a shower, preferably a hot one, can refresh my senses and make me feel better. This is especially important when I’m feeling like shit, because showering helps me feel like I’m an adult for some reason.

Hydrate. One of my goals this year is to increase my water intake, and I’m happy to report that it’s been going well. My skin feels more supple and I haven’t been overeating as much. It also makes you feel refreshed and more energized.

Clean. My room can get pretty messy, so whenever I’m stuck in a rut, I like to sort my clothes and put shit in their proper places. It’s funny because this was actually a tip from my therapist, and I never believed her until I tried it for myself. The environment you live in really does play a part in your mindset, and a cluttered room doesn’t help my already messy mind. Cleaning my room helps me feel a bit more in control of my life.

Read a book. I like to reread my favorites because it doesn’t require a lot of concentration as reading a new book, yet it takes you out of your head for a while.

Write. Either here in the blog or in my journal, I find that writing keeps me from overthinking or getting drowned in my emotions. It helps me figure out the root cause of what I’m feeling. Also, it allows me to be mindful of my emotions and not get too bogged down in them.

Socialize as needed. Sometimes, all we need is a little me-time: to meditate, to reflect, and to heal. Then at other times, we need a friend: someone to talk to who won’t judge us or the way we’re feeling. It’s important to recognize the difference between what you need at the time, because depression can make us prone to isolation which can make the episode even worse. When I feel like I need a helping hand, I don’t hesitate to reach out to my closest friends, who I know I can count on. But when I feel like I’m not in the mood to socialize, I know my friends will understand if I’m too tired to hang out.

 

That’s it for my self-care tips! Do you have more that could help me out? Sound off in the comments!


Follow me on Bloglovin’, Twitter, and Facebook!

5 thoughts on “How I practice self-care

Leave a Reply

