make-up is my war paint

REVIEW: Kat Von D Everlasting Mini Liquid Lipstick Set

Because I’m a total lipstick junkie, I have to have one from each hyped brand. I wish I were kidding. I’m only holding back on Kylie Jenner because they’re too expensive, and Jeffree Star because he apparently is an asshole.

So, let’s get down to business!

kat-von-d-everlasting-liquid-lipstick-1

In general

These apply smoothly and are, for the most part, pigmented. They don’t dry down fully and remain a bit tacky throughout the day. They are not fully transfer-proof, which I didn’t expect, but at least they’re not terribly drying.

kat-von-d-everlasting-liquid-lipstick-swatches
Top to bottom: Santa Sangre, Mother, Lovesick, Backstage Bambi, L.U.V., Echo, Plath, Roxy

By shade

Santa Sangre – “poison apple”. Applies smoothly with no streaks or patches. My favorite of the bunch, which is not surprising given how much I love red lippies.

kat-von-d-everlasting-liquid-lipstick-santa-sangre

Mother – “dusty mauve pink”. Highly pigmented and glides on smoothly. Needs a touch-up halfway through the day after eating.

kat-von-d-everlasting-liquid-lipstick-mother

Lovesick – “mauve nude”. Streaky when applied. Minimal transfer once dried. My least favorite of these shades, if only because I’m not partial to nudes.

Backstage Bambi – “vivid hot pink”. It’s streaky when applied, and patchy on the lips. Does not layer well; forms clumps when layered. I like this color, I just wish the formula was better.

kat-von-d-everlasting-liquid-lipstick-backstage-bambi

L.U.V. – “rich violet”. A wee bit patchy for my taste, and not as pigmented too. Looks like Maybelline’s Vibrant Violet.

Echo – “satin navy blue”. Not as pigmented as I would have liked. Very lightweight and comfortable on the lips. Wears away quickly when eating and drinking, even out of a straw. Needs constant reapplication, and it layers well.

kat-von-d-everlasting-liquid-lipstick-echo

Plath – “deep russet red”. Pigmented. Transfers. Layers well. Another one with a good formula, and another of my favorites in this set.

kat-von-d-everlasting-liquid-lipstick-plath

Roxy – “bright grape purple”. Streaky when applied. Not as pigmented as I would have liked. Similar in color to NYX’s Liquid Suede in Amethyst, though it’s a darker purple.

Overall

I like these liquid lipsticks. They’re not as drying as Colourpop, they stay put for a good 4-5 hours sans eating, and most shades I’ve tried are pigmented! I wasn’t completely wowed – my fave is still Stila – but they’re good enough for the price.

Price: ~Php3000 from Shopee (comes around to ~Php375 per mini liquid lipstick)


Follow me on Bloglovin’, Twitter, and Facebook!

 

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Kat Von D Everlasting Mini Liquid Lipstick Set

Leave a Reply

