make-up is my war paint

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: VMV Hypoallergenics, The Body Shop, and Max Factor

Sidenote: I am really loving writing first impressions blogs! I like to jot down my initial thoughts and circle back to them when writing up the empties/proper reviews.

img_17771

VMV Hypoallergenics Spring Cleaning Purifying Facial Wash (Php730)

I bought this because it says it’s ideal for oily skin, and I’ve had a good experience with a VMV product in the past. I’ve tried it a few times and it’s a gentle cleanser – perhaps so gentle that my face doesn’t feel squeaky-clean afterwards. However, I need to get it through my skull that the squeaky feel after cleansing just means your facial wash is too harsh and strips away the skin’s natural moisture, causing it to overcompensate by producing too much oil.

The Body Shop Body Butter in Wild Argan Oil (Php695)

This smells soooo good, and the boyfriend loves it on me! It’s thick and moisturizing but not heavy or greasy. It’s just right for my normal-dry skin (I’m talking about my body, not my face).

Max Factor Creme Puff blush in Lavish Mauve (Php675)

Reviews abound the Internet say that this is a dupe for Hourglass Ambient Lighting. Since that’s way too expensive for me, I picked up what may be the next best thing. This is a powder that’s finely milled and feels creamy, super easy to blend. The catch is that I got it in a color that doesn’t exactly show up on me, so I need to go hard as a mother if I want this to show up on my cheeks.


That’s it for this installment of first impressions! I’ll let you know how it goes as soon as I have enough product for an empties post!


Follow me on Bloglovin’!

7 thoughts on “FIRST IMPRESSIONS: VMV Hypoallergenics, The Body Shop, and Max Factor

Leave a Reply

