make-up is my war paint

REVIEW: TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Hughes in Loyal and Dedicated

For me, YouTuber Stephanie Nicole is a goddess. I often rely on her to tell me about products that actually work. She’s very detailed and thorough so I feel I’m getting my money’s worth when I buy shit she recommends. Anyway, in her liquid lipstick review series, she reco’d this and I went out and bought two. Ya know, because #StephanieNicole.

Packaging is spunky, as is usual for TheBalm. The doe foot applicator is nothing special.

img_13291

Important note: it is freakin’ delicious. It tastes like mint chocolate chip ice cream!!!

It applies creamy/mousse-y and remains a wee bit tacky through the day, which I don’t mind since I like my lips to have some moisture. It layers okay – the second layer may emphasize the cracks and flakes of your lips, so good prep (exfoliation) is a must. Others use a lip scrub; I use my handy dandy toothbrush to scrub away any dead flakes.

It wears away unevenly when I ate, so please take that into consideration. It’s not as budge-proof as I would like.

Now for the swatches. Loyal is described as a “deep red”, and Dedicated a “berry red”.

img_13301

Verdict: Wish it was cheaper, but the quality is good for the price. I can see myself using this a lot since it’s so comfy to wear.

Price: Php775 at the BeautyBar

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: TheBalm Meet Matt(e) Hughes in Loyal and Dedicated

Leave a Reply

