make-up is my war paint

REVIEW: Sleek MakeUP Highlighting Palette in Solstice

I have been thinking about this for weeks, and now that I have it, I haven’t used any other highlight since. (I’m so sorry, Banila Co.’s So Strobing Stick. But I just prefer powder formulations, ya know?) I was thinking of getting Cleopatra’s Kiss since reviews say it’s better suited for medium skin with warm undertones, but I said fuck it, I want the palette with the gorgeous lilac highlighter!

img_1089

The packaging is a really pretty metallic gold. I’m used to Sleek’s packaging in plain black, so this was a pleasant surprise.

This contains 1 cream (Ecliptic) and 3 powder highlighters, 2 of which are baked (Hemisphere and Subsolar) and 1 described as a shimmer (Equinox). None of them are overly glittery; in fact, they provide a wet-looking shimmer to the tops of the cheekbones, which is my favorite place to apply highlighter.

img_1095
Okay, I’m sorry for the bad photo that doesn’t show how different they really are IRL. But DO YOU SEE HOW PRETTY IT IS IN THE LIGHT?

The only qualm I have with this is that it doesn’t last as long as I would like on my oily skin – like, 4 hours, tops, if I set it properly. I bring this along for touch-ups, which is annoying because it means I also have to bring my highlighter brush (I do not like the brush that comes with it in the packaging). Also, it’s a bit bulky to include in my makeup kit.

Overall, I’d be more than happy to repurchase these again for the absolutely stunning shades!

Price: Php875 from SM Beauty

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Sleek MakeUP Highlighting Palette in Solstice

Leave a Reply

