death · family · friends

On death

I’m afraid of death. That is to say, I myself am not too afraid to die. I am afraid, though, of someone I love dying. 

Once, I was watching TV when I suddenly thought of how it would be if The Best Friend died. I suddenly started crying and I immediately texted him, begging him not to die before I did.

Then recently, my mother’s friend passed. We went to his wake and it just made me totally lose it inside, because I never wanted to be on the receiving end of condolences.

That’s why I always ask my mom such morbid questions like whether she wants to be buried or cremated upon her death. I guess I’m hoping that talking about death will somehow lessen my fear of it.

Leave a Reply

