make-up is my war paint

REVIEW: Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

So I was thinking of getting a BeautyBlender, but then – gasp – an adult thought hit me! What if, what if, I spent less money on cosmetics this payout? So I went ahead and acted like a grown-up, and ordered this product from BeautyMNL.

(Sidenote: I have gotten a lot of people at the office to buy from BeautyMNL. They should send me gift certificates.)

It’s less than half the price of a BeautyBlender and it’s from a reputable brand, too! So let’s see how it performs…

IMG_5296[1]

Texture is very soft and smooth. It’s a pleasure to dab, slap, and pat this on the face.

I used it to apply foundation, concealer, contour powder, and a cream blush.

 

FOUNDATION

The sponge soaks up product, but not enough for me to complain. I typically use a stippling brush which I feel just lets the product sit on my face. With the flat end of this sponge, though, I felt as though I were really pushing the foundie into my skin. The effect is a more natural-looking, dewier look.

 

CONCEALER

I used the pointed tip to apply my Revlon concealer under my eyes and on my blemishes. The pointed tip does a great job at blending the concealer under my eyes and patting the product into place on my blemishes.

 

CONTOUR POWDER

Okay, I didn’t use this to apply contour; I used it to blend contour, which worked better than ever since I didn’t see any harsh lines whatsoever as compared to when I use a blush brush.

 

CREAM BLUSH

Used the rounded end, scooped out some cream blush, and dabbed it onto my cheeks. Again, more product than usual was necessary to achieve the usual look I go for. But it applied the blush pretty well and gave me a rosy glow. Bonus: it doubles as a makeup eraser when I’m heavy-handed!

 

It does tear a bit easily, so you have to be careful when washing it. Overall, though, I’d say this is a solid product for its price.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge

Leave a Reply

