friends · letters

A letter to The Best Friend dated 12/14/2015

I’m reminded of you when I walk through Cubao and see the paths we’ve so frequently crossed together. I see the spots where we’ve promised to meet, the chairs we’ve occupied, the buildings that surrounded us then. This time of year is especially memorable to me: our long talks under the gigantic Christmas tree, the bright colored lights reflected in our shining eyes.

It’s always rather wistful for me (maybe I’m romanticizing it — then again, that’s sort of my specialty). I can’t help but look back at all the fond memories. It’s not as if we’re not going to make new ones, but you know how I’m a sucker for reminiscences.

To see the places we’ve forged our friendship still tugs at my heartstrings after all these years. I will always have a place for Cubao, and for you, in my heart.

Here’s to better things in 2016.

Leave a Reply

