anything goes

The KonMari method

I read an article on how to declutter, and it’s pretty cool. Basically, you throw out anything in your closet or house that doesn’t bring you joy the minute you hold it. If you hesitate, you throw it out! Simple, no?

This is a principle that applies not just to decluttering your house, but to life in general as well. We have a tendency to hoard things that are just not good for us. Whether it’s a toxic friendship, a dead-end relationship, a shitty job that sucks the life out of you… We hold on to awful things just because we’re so used to it, so attached to it. We forget that we can bring joy back into our lives by decluttering.

This is a good way to explain how I’ve dealt with my life in the past several months. I quit a job that had me wishing to be run over by a bus. I ended a relationship that, for me, wasn’t going anywhere. I left an online group conversation that triggered my anxieties. Now, I feel so much lighter and unburdened.

This may seem thankless and cold to some, but remember, the most important person in your life is yourself. You have to take care of yourself well because you’re the only one you’ve got. So declutter away – the most meaningful things you hold dear will stand the KonMari test anyway.

4 thoughts on “The KonMari method

  1. You know KonMari!!!
    I suggest you read The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing – Marie Kondo. You’ll learn a lot. 😉 About storage and decluttering and others!

    Like

Leave a Reply

