anxiety · depression · mental health

Depression update

I’ve been feeling a lot better as of late. I mean, sure, some days I still wake up with a heavy heart for no reason. And sometimes my anxiety kicks in and I want to curl into a ball on the floor. But I’ve been managing it well – better, at least, than I used to.

My therapy has been cut back from 2-3 times a month to just once a month. I thought I wouldn’t be able to handle it, but apparently, I am coping. I have a grounding object that works wonders. I have people to contact in case of emergencies (i.e. existential crises). And very little thoughts along the line of “If I vanished off the face of the earth right now, would that be such a bad thing?”

I’ve been reading a book on other people’s experience with depression, and it’s been useful. Granted, some advice doesn’t apply to me (I am exercise-averse and I’m an atheist, so telling me to get moving and pray doesn’t work for me), but it’s still nice to know that a lot of other people have gone through depression and are currently doing fine.

I guess that’s part of why I’m trying to be more open about my depression – if even one person could feel less alone by reading my shit, then it will all have been worth it.

2 thoughts on “Depression update

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head with your closing lines – it’s the main reason why I continue to write as well! I also think one of the reasons having a mental illness is such a complex problem is because just because a coping method works for one person, does not mean that it will work for someone else. Unlike say something like the common cold, where there are remedies that work for practically everyone.

    Thank you for writing this entry – I hope that you feel better soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

