anything goes · growing up

Adulting

Coworker: Paano ba umasta ang adult?

Me: Di ko alam, fini-figure out ko pa rin eh.

As I’m nearing my 24th year of existence, I become more and more conscious that I should try to behave like a grown-up. But what does that even mean?

Does that mean I need to start eating vegetables?

Does that mean I need to stop laughing at dumb jokes?

Does that mean I need to stop impulse-shopping?

Does that mean I need to tone down my laugh? (God, I hope not.)


See, no matter what I do, I don’t feel like an adult. I don’t feel responsible or capable. In fact, most days I fake it until I make it – I pretend to have my shit together until I feel comfortable enough to say that I do. But deep inside I am still a scared little child who wants someone to tell her what to do.

I dunno, maybe we are all faking it on some level. Maybe the secret is that no one really grows up, and we’re all just pretending.

One thought on “Adulting

Leave a Reply

