anything goes · I have a lot of feelings

Masks

We all wear one. Most of the time, we wear happy masks as we go about our day. Let’s face it, we don’t want people knowing just how damaged we are on the inside.

But sometimes, masks slip. 

You can break down crying, or just freeze up and become unable to function. Me personally, I wear an outrageously happy mask to hide the fact that sometimes, I get blue, too.

It used to be that when my mask slips, I would work extra hard to make sure my guards were up. Not anymore. When that happens, I own my sadness, knowing that I don’t have to shame myself into denying my feelings.

It takes a truly special person for you to take off your mask and make yourself vulnerable. But if that person is truly a friend, then it’ll be worth it.

Leave a Reply

