love (or something less cheesy) · stutter stories

Slow

Let’s take it slow, we said.

One date

one day

at a time. 

And I try. 

But how do I slow 

my heartbeat each time I see you? 

How does one slow 

a fall down into the rabbit hole 

when she knows Wonderland awaits? 

Take it slow, they said. 

Get to know each other first. 

But how, when each conversation turns 

into a confession of past sins? 

Or when every time I talk to you, 

it feels as though I’ve known you forever?

All things considered, I guess 

you could say we took it slow,

since the realization – 

that I had already fallen in love with you – 

dawned on me

just 

as the night shifts

to day without 

warning:

gradually,

quietly,

slowly.

Leave a Reply

