I have a lot of feelings

I can’t save everybody

I have a hero complex. I’m used to being the one that my friends run to when they have problems. I genuinely enjoy listening to them and helping them sort out their shit. For years, I’ve told myself that I’m worth loving because of all the love I give others.

So when I can’t help them out, I feel useless. Impotent. Like I’m not worth shit in this world because I can’t be of use to others. 

I’m still trying to accept that I can’t save everybody. There are people that don’t need or want my help. And I shouldn’t base my self-worth on that. It’s dangerous to think that I’m only a good person if I help others, because it makes me neglect the most important person in my life – myself.

Leave a Reply

