642 Tiny Things to Write About · friends · letters

3/642: Send a toxic friend a breakup text

Dear ex-friend,

I’m sorry to say this, but this is me breaking up with you.

We’ve had so many wonderful memories that it pains me to even say it. But I can’t do this anymore.

It’s not me, it’s you. You are an emotional vampire – you suck the life out of me until I’m left empty. You insist on telling me your problems but when I’m the one who needs a friend to turn to, you’re either physically gone or emotionally absent. You never made me feel like I was being listened to, or that my concerns were valid. So that’s why I’m leaving.

Don’t take this the wrong way. We can still hang out with other friends, see each other in group settings. But I can’t continue to give you the support and love that you do not or cannot reciprocate.

I hope in time you will understand why I’m doing this. And I hope you will recognize that right now, this is for the best.

Thank you for everything.

Ela

Leave a Reply

