The future is still scary

Reading through a post I wrote five years ago, I’m jarred by how much things have changed.

 

I no longer regret not taking up law, because I know now that it isn’t the right path for me. I still don’t have any passion or interest in it – that much hasn’t changed. What has changed is my attitude towards my decision. I don’t regret not following my mother’s footsteps, because I know that it is not meant for me. I was meant for other things.

 

The scary part is, I have yet to discover what that is. I’m quite happy in my current job, but sometimes I think, “Is this all there is to life? Is this it: work 9-6 then die alone?” I am still looking out for something greater, something extremely good to happen. Still looking for my direction in life, trying to see where it’ll take me.

 

But as Ron Swanson (Parks and Recreation) said, “Blueprints for the future are a fool’s errand.” There’s no way to tell where we’ll end up in 1, 2, 5, 10 years’ time. All we can do is live in the present and hope for the best.

 

The future is still scary, but I’ll make it through one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

