death · I have a lot of feelings · my back has been breaking from this heavy heart · stutter stories

How I started my morning

I was drinking coffee this morning
watching the news
when the anchor said an accident had occurred
in the city where I worked.
The streets were all
too familiar.

A man
on a motorcycle
had been run over
by a bus.
Dead on the spot.

I finished my coffee, got
in the shower. I sang
to the happy songs on the radio.
I danced.

Sitting in bed,
a fluffy towel on my head,
I wondered
why that man
couldn’t have been me instead.

Leave a Reply

